Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana 2017


Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana 2017 – Get details on Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY) ✓ Online Application ✓ Form ✓ Guidelines ✓ Important Dates ✓ Work Progress ✓ Time line ✓ Registration Fees ✓ Eligibility ✓ Documents ✓ Loan EMI ✓ Government Subsidy & more.

Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana PMAY- Housing for All one of the bold and complimented step taken by the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi ji by launching this scheme in June 2015. In this scheme the main focus of the NDA government is to provide housing for all by 2022.

This scheme will cater the housing needs of the mid-income family group along with the Economically Weaker Section (EWS) i.e. annual income not exceeding Rs 3 Lakhs and Low-income group (LIG) annual income not exceeding Rs 6 Lakhs.

The four main objectives of this scheme are as follows:

to transform the slum areas into proper buildings where the lower section and mid section group people can spend their lives by availing basic facilities like sanitation, water facility and electricity facilities round the clock.

Providing credit assistance to the weaker section people by providing credit linked subsidy to the people on loans taken for renovation and reconstruction of the existing homes.

In partnership with the state and union territories government, central government provides financial assistance to them for making housing projects for EWS group people.

To cater EWS group people by providing direct financial assistance with Rs 1.5 lakhs rupees.

Eligibility Criteria for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY)  are as follows :

Person who wants to get benefit from this scheme should not have own a house either on his own name or any of his family members name in any state or city of India. In short, the beneficiary should be a first time home owner and the family members include husband, wife and unmarried children.

This scheme is for lower income group (LIG) people having income not more than Rs 6 lakhs per annum and economic weaker section (EWS) people having income not more than Rs 3 lakhs per annum.

Houses constructed for EWS people under this scheme should have carpet area of 30 square meters and for LIG category people the carpet area should be 60 square meters.

The loan facility can be avail by the genuine applicants for buying, construction, and renovation of house which includes add-on of toilet, kitchen, rooms etc. to their current home. 

Current Status and Up gradation in the Scheme

Till the end of the year, for (EWS) Economically weaker sections group more than 12,27,900 houses has been approved by the government, more than 50,000 houses has been fully build so far and the work for construction of more than 2 lakhs houses has been going on under serious supervision from the government officials.

         State State Wise Approvals Houses Build So Far
 Gujarat 1,20,780 59,600
Tamil Nadu 61,700 35,000
Madhya Pradesh 67,900 29,470
West Bengal 1,23,000 20,010
Bihar 63,000 16,000
Rajasthan 35,365 13,450
Jharkhand 49,568 10,220
Karnataka 82,960 9,338
Andhra Pradesh 1,94,880 5,673
Odisha 46,800 4,106

There are certain updation taken in the recent year regarding the loan scheme which are as follows:

If a person take home loan up to Rs 9 lakhs under this scheme than the beneficiary will get a 4% rebate on his/her loan interest rate.

If an applicant wants to take loan up to Rs 12 Lakhs than he will be entitle to get a rebate of 3% on the interest rate.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here